

THE PUBLIC THEATER
ANNOUNCES ANNUAL GALA
CELEBRATING HELL'S KITCHEN
ON BROADWAY
WEDNESDAY, MAY 8

**Evening to Honor HELL'S KITCHEN Creative Team Camille A. Brown, Kristoffer Diaz, Michael Greif, and Alicia Keys** 

Hosted by Gala Co-Chairs Yrthya Dinzey-Flores and Mychal Harrison

Gala Benefit Committee includes Jonathan D. Cohen, Ariana DeBose, Colman Domingo, Peter Fine, Renée Elise Goldsberry, John Gore, Ethan Hawke, Christopher Jackson, Jasmine Cephas Jones, John Leguizamo, Judith Light & Robert Desiderio, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Erica Schmidt & Peter Dinklage, Liev Schreiber, Phillipa Soo & Steven Pasquale, Corey Stoll, Marisa Tomei, and Susan Kelechi Watson

March 14, 2024 – The Public Theater (Artistic Director, Oskar Eustis; Executive Director, Patrick Willingham; Board Chair, Luis A. Miranda, Jr.) announced today that The Public's Annual Gala will take place on **Wednesday, May 8** with a special performance of **HELL'S KITCHEN** on Broadway.

This year, The Public honors the creative team of **HELL'S KITCHEN**: **Camille A. Brown** (*Choreography*), **Kristoffer Diaz** (*Book*), **Michael Greif** (*Director*), and **Alicia Keys** (*Music & Lyrics*). All native New Yorkers themselves, the **HELL'S KITCHEN** creative team created an exhilarating, joyful new musical about the greatest city in the world. The musical, which was developed and had its world premiere at The Public last year, tells a coming-of-age story in the heart of New York City, inspired by Keys' own experiences growing up in 90s Hell's Kitchen. This Gala Performance will celebrate the city and the remarkable artists who worked on **HELL'S KITCHEN**, the latest in a long legacy of new musicals from The Public Theater.

"These four wonderful artists—Camille A. Brown, Kristoffer Diaz, Michael Greif, and Alicia Keys—are not only brilliant, exemplary New Yorkers, they have also given more to The Public Theater than words can express," said **Artistic Director Oskar Eustis**. "I am so lucky to work with these people, so deeply in awe of their talent, and so proud that they call The Public home."

This year's annual event will be hosted by Gala Co-Chairs Yrthya Dinzey-Flores and Mychal Harrison. The Gala Benefit Committee, an illustrious group of Public Theater alumni and supporters, includes Jonathan D. Cohen, Ariana DeBose, Colman Domingo, Peter Fine, Renée Elise Goldsberry, John Gore, Ethan Hawke, Christopher Jackson, Jasmine Cephas Jones, John Leguizamo, Judith Light & Robert Desiderio, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Erica Schmidt & Peter Dinklage, Liev Schreiber, Phillipa Soo & Steven Pasquale, Corey Stoll, Marisa Tomei, and Susan Kelechi Watson.

"The Public's annual Gala celebrates everyone who makes our work accessible to all New Yorkers—from new plays and musicals to free performances and touring productions—and we are so grateful to our donors for their incredible support," said **Executive Director Patrick Willingham**. "While our Delacorte Theater revitalization continues this summer, we're thrilled to honor *Hell's Kitchen* and its creative team on Broadway as part of our annual Gala and celebrate our great city ahead of our summer of celebrating The Public and Free Shakespeare in the Park across all five boroughs."

"Galas are a time to celebrate extraordinary triumphs of the past year and share future milestones with old and new friends," said **Board Chair Luis A. Miranda, Jr.** "Galas are also a time to reflect; an annual reminder that donating to the arts is an investment in your community with countless ripples. As nonprofit theaters continue to struggle across the nation, we at The Public are tremendously thankful for all our supporters—from small one-off gifts to larger, lifelong donors. Without you, none of the art we create and the community of artists we nurture, would be possible."

The May Gala will kick off with a pre-show reception held at Mermaid Oyster Bar Times Square at 5:00 p.m., followed by a 7:30 p.m. performance of the acclaimed new musical at the Shubert Theatre. An afterparty will be held at Bacall's following the performance.

Gala tickets start at \$250 and are available by calling <a href="mailto:212.539.8634">212.539.8634</a>, online at <a href="mailto:publictheater.org/hkgala">publictheater.org/hkgala</a>, or via email at <a href="mailto:gala@publictheater.org">gala@publictheater.org</a>. Proceeds from the Gala will help support The Public's mission of providing a home for artists who give voice to the pressing issues of our time, provide free and affordable access to thousands of New Yorkers with Free Shakespeare in the Park and other groundbreaking works, and strengthen the vital relationship between our artists and audiences.

To support The Public Theater, become a Supporter or Partner by visiting <u>publictheater.org/supporttoday</u>.

## **ABOUT THE PUBLIC THEATER:**

**THE PUBLIC** continues the work of its visionary founder Joe Papp as a civic institution engaging, both on-stage and off, with some of the most important ideas and social issues of today. Conceived over 60 years ago as one of the nation's first nonprofit theaters, The Public has long operated on the principles that theater is an essential cultural force and that art and culture belong to everyone. Under the leadership of Artistic Director Oskar Eustis and Executive Director Patrick Willingham, The Public's wide breadth of programming includes an annual season of new work at its landmark home at Astor Place, Free Shakespeare in the Park at The Delacorte Theater in Central Park, the Mobile Unit touring throughout New York City's five boroughs, Public Lab, Public Works, Public Shakespeare Initiative, and Joe's Pub. Since premiering *HAIR* in 1967, The Public continues to create the canon of American Theater and is currently represented on Broadway by the Tony Award-winning musical *Hamilton* by Lin-Manuel Miranda and the upcoming productions of *Suffs* by Shaina Taub and *Hell's Kitchen* by Alicia Keys and Kristoffer Diaz. Their programs and productions can also be seen regionally across the country and around the world. The Public has received 60 Tony Awards, 194 Obie Awards, 57 Drama Desk Awards, 61 Lortel Awards, 36 Outer Critic Circle Awards, 13 New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards, 65 AUDELCO Awards, 6 Antonyo Awards, and 6 Pulitzer Prizes. publictheater.org

The Public Theater stands in honor of the first inhabitants and our ancestors. We acknowledge the land on which The Public and its theaters stand—the original homeland of the Lenape people—and the painful history of genocide and forced removal from this territory. We honor the generations of stewards, and we pay our respects to the many diverse Indigenous peoples still connected to this land.

The Public also gives our respect to the people of Seneca Village, a community of Black property owners who were removed from their land and whose village was destroyed in the creation of Central Park. We recognize the sacrifice that these ancestors made and honor Seneca Village's legacy.

**The LuEsther T. Mertz Legacy Trust** provides leadership support for The Public Theater's year-round activities.

## **CONNECT WITH US**

Facebook.com/PublicTheater

Instagram | @PublicTheaterNY

Threads | @PublicTheaterNY

TikTok | @PublicTheaterNY

# # #